Close on the heels of reconstituting its State-level office-bearers’ team, the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday appointed in-charge leaders for each of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in the State to monitor its preparations for the Lok Sabha elections.

With this, the BJP has set the stage for a formal launch of the preparations for the LS polls. The party was waiting for the completion of all the organisational processes to invite its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi to Bangalore to formally launch its preparations for the polls.

Most of the in-charge leaders are former Ministers or sitting MLAs. In addition to the in-charge leaders, co-in-charge leaders have also been appointed. Two co in-charges have been appointed for some of the prominent constituencies.

The party has appointed the former Deputy Chief Minister R. Ashok as in-charge and Jayanagar MLA B.N. Vijay Kumar as co in-charge for the important constituency of Bangalore South, which is attracting media attention in the wake of speculation that Congress may field UIDAI Chairman Nandan Nilekani from here to take on BJP’s national general secretary Ananth Kumar.

More In: Karnataka | National