The impasse over the constitution of the Council of Ministers of the second Bharatiya Janata Party government in Karnataka, led by D.V. Sadananda Gowda, ended with the induction of 21 Ministers at a hurriedly convened swearing-in ceremony here on Monday.

Governor H.R. Bhardwaj administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Ministers at the Raj Bhavan. In view of the consensus, 12 members from the former Chief Minister, B.S. Yeddyurappa's faction, and nine from Jagadish Shettar's camp took oath.

V.S. Acharya, Shobha Karandlaje, M.P. Renukacharya, Basavaraj Bommai, C.M. Udasi, Murugesh Nirani, C.C. Patil, Umesh Katti, Laxman Savadi, Revu Naik Belamagi, J. Krishna Palemar, V. Somanna, Mr. Shettar, Govind M. Karjol, S.A. Ramdas, A. Narayanaswamy, R. Ashok, B.N. Bache Gowda, Visveshwara Hegde Kageri, S.A. Ravindranath and S. Suresh Kumar were sworn in as Ministers in five batches.

Cheers supporters

Mr. Yeddyurappa, who was instrumental in installing Mr. Sadananda Gowda as Chief Minister, was seen cheering his supporters at the function. Some of his loyalists received his blessings after taking oath. The families and supporters of the new Ministers attended the function.

G. Karunakara Reddy and G. Janardhana Reddy, and their associate B. Sriramulu, whose names have been recommended for prosecution in the Lokayukta report, and legislators supporting them, did not attend the ceremony.

Mr. Yeddyurappa was seated in the front row as was party's State president K.S. Eshwarappa.

Pradhan attends ceremony

BJP general secretary Dharmendra Pradhan, who was deputed by the party high command to resolve the Ministry formation crisis, and V. Satish, a representative from the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, were present.