It will be for the third time that Jharkhand will have two Deputy Chief Ministers in its short and chequered political history.

BJP leader Raghuvar Das and AJSU chief Sudesh Mahto who were sworn-in on Wednesday in the new Shibu Soren cabinet will be Deputy Chief Ministers, according to sources in the BJP.

Since there is no reference to a Deputy Chief Minister’s post in the Constitution, Mr. Das and Mr. Sudesh Mahto took oath as Ministers.

When Madhu Koda became Chief Minister of the UPA-coalition on September 18, 2008 he made JMM leader Sudhir Mahto and former Independent MLA Stephen Marandi as his deputies as per a political understanding to form that government.

Mr. Sudhir Mahto and Mr. Marandi retained their posts even after Mr. Koda made way for Mr. Soren as Chief Minister on August 27, 2008.