Two former deputy chief ministers, the Speaker, Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee president and many former ministers bit the dust as the Jharkhand assembly election results were announced today.

Senior Congress leader and deputy chief minister Stephen Marandi emerged third in Dumka seat which he had won for six times.

In his seventh shot, he was drubbed by JMM chief Shibu Soren’s son Hemant Soren.

During the 2005 assembly election Marandi, who was then with the JMM was denied the ticket but he contested as an Independent and won in it.

Yet another former deputy chief minister and senior JMM leader Sudhir Mahto lost the Icchagarh seat, which was won by Babulal Marandi’s JVM(P) candidate Arvind Kumar Singh.

Senior Congress leader and Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Alamgir Alam lost his traditional Pakur seat, while Jharkhand PCC chief Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu lost Ghatsila seat.

Former ministers Kamlesh Singh of NCP lost from Hussainabad, former minister Bhanu Pratap Sahi lost from Bhawanathpur and Joba Majhi from Manoharpur seat.

Former Union minister and Congress leader Rameshwar Oraon lost Manikar seat.

The other prominent losers were senior RJD leader Girinath Singh in Garhwa and senior BJP leader and former minister Dinesh Kumar Sarangi in Baharagora.