India and Pakistan on Sunday exchanged their lists of nuclear installations and facilities, a practice being followed for the last two decades under a pact prohibiting attack on each other's nuclear assets.

The list, exchanged through diplomatic channels simultaneously in New Delhi and Islamabad, shows the installations and facilities covered under the pact, the External Affairs Ministry said here.

The “Agreement on the Prohibition of Attack against Nuclear Installations between India and Pakistan,” was signed on December 31, 1988 and it came into force on January 27, 1991.

It provides that the two countries inform each other of the installations and facilities to be covered under the agreement on January 1 every year.

This is the 21st consecutive exchange of such lists, the first one having taken place on January 1, 1992.


Kayani pitches for CBMs with IndiaMay 3, 2012

More In: National | News