India on Saturday reached a civil nuclear agreement with Canada. It was firmed up during a meeting between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and his Canadian counterpart Stephen Harper here on the sidelines of Commonwealth Summit.

Canada has become the eighth country with which India has reached civil nuclear agreement since the NSG lifted a 34-year-old ban on India to join global nuclear trade in September last year.

The other countries with which India has already signed the civil nuclear deal are the US, France, Russia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Argentina and Namibia.

The Canadian Prime Minister was in New Delhi on November 17 when the two countries had announced that they are working to complete the civil nuclear deal.

Addressing a joint press conference after meeting Harper, the Prime Minister had said he looked forward to conclude in the near future a civil nuclear agreement with Canada, like India had done with the US, Russia, France and some other countries.

Harper had said that Canada is an “emerging super power” in the in energy sector while India is in need of energy.