The election for 26 posts of councillors and 53 members to the Imphal Municipal Council (IMC) concluded at 4 p.m. on Wednesday without any untoward incident.

One councillor and one member had been already declared elected unopposed. Election department officials said that there was 70 per cent polling with more women voters than men in an electorate of 1,62,264 voters.

92 contested

Ninety-two candidates had contested for the posts of 26 councillors while there were 218 candidates in the fray for the posts of 53 members.

Congress contests all seats

The ruling Congress is the only party which contested all the seats. Its coalition partner — the Communist Party of India — fielded just four candidates.

The Nationalist Congress Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party fielded 10 candidates each.

The Manipur People's Party, which is regarded as the main Opposition party in the State, did not field any candidate.

The Trinamool Congress, which had won the by-election to the Konthoujam constituency, put up six candidates.

Thirty-six independents contested for various posts.