The ruling Congress swept the Assembly polls in Arunachal Pradesh and retained power for a second consecutive term by securing over two-thirds majority.

Of the total 60 seats, the Congress has bagged 42. In the 2004 polls, the ruling party won 34 seats.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) improved its tally to five seats from the two seats won by it in 2004. The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), which made the electoral debut in the border State, also won five seats to finish at the second position jointly with the NCP.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which contested in 18 seats, managed to win three seats. It won nine seats in 2004.

The People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA), the lone regional party to have contested the polls, won four seats to finish third while one seat was won by an Independent candidate.

Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and nine of his Cabinet colleagues were re-elected.

Mr. Khandu has already scripted political history by getting elected unopposed for a record third time from the Mukto Assembly constituency in Tawang district that borders China. He was elected unopposed from the same constituency in 1999 and 2004.

Other prominent winners include Pradesh Congress Committee president and Public Works Department Minister Nabam Tuki from the Sagalee constituency and Home Minister Jarbom Gamlin from the Liromba constituency.

Among the three PPA winners is Takam Tagar — the richest candidate, who declared a total asset of over Rs.209 crore, from the Palin constituency.

Prominent losers of the ruling party include the former Chief Minister, Gegong Apang, and his son, the former Union Minister, Omak Apang, and Pomoya Mithi, wife of the former Chief Minister and former Governor, Mukut Mithi. Mr. Mithi is now a Rajya Sabha member. The senior Apang was defeated by his nearest NCP rival Alo Libang by 1,370 votes in the Tuting Yinkiong constituency while the junior Apang was defeated by his nearest BJP rival Tangor Tapak by 661 votes in the Pasighat West constituency.

The newly elected Congress legislators are likely to meet on Saturday to elect a new leader. Mr. Khandu is tipped to be the unanimous choice for the post of Chief Minister for a second consecutive term, sources in the party said.