Continuing its reforms in the provisions and guidelines, the Election Commission, headed by Chief Election Commissioner S.Y. Quraishi, has now allowed the registered unrecognised political parties to have a common symbol as a one-time offer during the general elections.

Hitherto those parties were given symbols by draw of lots in individual constituencies if more than one candidate asked for a particular symbol. Consequently, these parties were unable to get uniform symbols in all the constituencies they contested.


To avail themselves of the concession, under the revised provisions of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, such parties will have to contest the general elections from at least 10 per cent of the constituencies in a State, subject to a minimum of 5 Assembly constituencies in a State having less than 50 Assembly Constituencies, and two Parliamentary Constituencies in a State having less than 20 Parliamentary constituencies.

The intimation of such constituencies should be given to the Commission at least three clear days before the date of issue of election notification along with the choice of 10 symbols from the list of free symbols.

One-time facility

This concession will be only a one-time facility for the Lok Sabha or the Assembly elections.

A party which was a recognised party earlier and now not entitled to the facility of allotment of any particular symbol to its candidates, will also be given the concession.

More In: National | News