Stone-pelting mobs clashed with security personnel at nearly a dozen places in Kashmir after Friday prayers, leaving 15 persons, including seven security-men, injured even as authorities clamped curfew in three towns in the Valley.

Five policemen including a CRPF jawan were injured when stone-pelting protesters attacked a security vehicle outside Nishat police station on the banks of Dal Lake here shortly after Friday prayers, police said.

Police and CRPF personnel fired several warning shots and burst teargas shells, they said, adding three civilians were also injured in the clash.

Another group of youths tried to take out a march towards Hyderpora Chowk on the Srinagar airport road but were dispersed by police, who fired teargas shells and used batons.

Four persons including a policeman were injured in the violence.

A passing private vehicle was also damaged by the mob and its driver received minor injuries.

Deputy Superintendent of Police Fayaz Ahmad and a woman identified as Muneera were injured when they were hit by stones during a clash at Kakapora in Pulwama district of South Kashmir.

Defying curfew, groups of youth clashed with police and CRPF in Kupwara district town. Police burst teargas shells and batons to disperse the protestors.

Similar clashes were reported from Pattan and cement Bridge in Baramulla, Bandipora, Dooru in Anantnag and Shopian districts but there was no report of any casuality, they said.

The authorities imposed curfew in Kupwara and Bandipora district towns besides Sopore town in Baramulla district as a precautionary measure as the hardline faction of Hurriyat Conference led by jailed leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani had asked people to stage demonstrations after Friday prayers against the killing of several youth during clashes with security forces in the past one month.

Besides imposing curfew in the three North Kashmir towns this morning, the authorities also imposed restrictions in parts of Srinagar.

Restrictions on the movement of the people were also imposed in Baramulla district of north Kashmir, Pulwama and Kulgam districts of south kashmir and budgam district of central Kashmir.