The Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress bagged seven seats each as Union Minister Ambika Soni, BJP vice-president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Gandhi family loyalist Satish Sharma and journalist Chandan Mitra were among 30 candidates elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha on Thursday.

The BJP garnered five seats, the DMK three, the SP, the NCP and the AIADMK two apiece and the Shiromani Akali Dal and the Shiv Sena one each as all 30 made it to the Upper House after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations drew to close on Thursday evening.

With 30 aspirants in race for as many seats from Uttar Pradesh (11), Maharashtra (6), TN (6), Madhya Pradesh (3), Punjab (2), Rajasthan (1) and Uttarakhand (1), and as no one opted out of contest, all of them were declared elected to the Council of States by respective Returning Officers.

In Uttar Pradesh, the ruling BSP got seven berths as Congress leader Satish Sharma and BJP’s Naqvi were among 11 elected uncontested to the House of Elders.

Besides Mr. Sharma and Mr. Naqvi, others elected to the Council of States are Satish Chandra Misra, S P Singh Baghel, Ambed Rajan, Jugal Kishore, Narendra Kashyap, Mohd Salim Ansari, Rajpal Saini (all BSP), and Mohan Singh and Rashid Masood (SP).

Among the Elders retiring from UP on July 4, seven belonged to the SP and two to the BSP.

Union Minister and Congress leader Ambika Soni and SAD general secretary Balwinder Singh Bhunder were declared elected unopposed from Punjab.

Vijay Darda and Avinash Pande (both Congress), Tariq Anwar and Ishwarlal Jain (both NCP), Piyush Goel (BJP) and Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena) were elected from Maharashtra.

Kanhaiyalal Gidwani of the Congress withdrew from the contest on the last day leaving six in the fray for as many seats from the state.

Three candidates of the ruling DMK, two of the AIADMK and one of the Congress were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

They are K P Ramalingam, TM Selvaganapathy, S Thangavelu (all DMK), Manoj Pandian and K V Ramalingam (both AIADMK) and E M Sudarsana Natchiappan (Congress).

BJP’s Chandan Mitra and Anil Madhav Dave and Vijaylaxmi Sadho of the Congress made it to the Upper Houser from Madhya Pradesh.

More In: National | News | States