The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (United) on Thursday agreed on a seat-sharing arrangement for the Jharkhand Assembly elections after talks broke off on Wednesday and the JD(U) announced it would go it alone.

The pact was signed and sealed by BJP president Rajnath Singh and JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav.

The JD(U) will contest 14 Assembly segments in a House of 81. The rest will be contested by the BJP.

Trouble had arisen earlier as the BJP wanted to cut by half the number of seats it was willing to cede to the JD(U) from 18 in the previous Assembly election to 9. However, the JD(U) insisted on the old formula, but was willing to get its share reduced by a “seat or two.”

After Mr. Yadav’s terse announcement on Wednesday calling off the talks, Mr. Singh asked senior leader Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi to better the offer to the JD(U) and this led to an amicable settlement of the disagreement. Subsequently, the JD(U) withdrew its list of 19 nominees released on Wednesday and announced a new list of 14 candidates.

JD(U) State president Jaleshwar Mahto will contest the Baghmara seat and the lone woman candidate in the list, Sudha Chaudhry, will try her luck from the reserved constituency of Chhattarpur. The Hussainabad segment will see Dashrath Kumar Singh in the contest.

The BJP has so far finalised a list of 64 candidates.

The Bagodar seat will be contested by Nakul Mandal; Tundi by Pradeep Aggarwal; Garwa by Alaknath Pandey; Ghatshila by Surya Singh Basera and Mander by Anil Orao.

The candidate for the Ranchi seat is Chandreshwar Prasad Singh; Dhanbad will be fought by Raj Sinha; Jamshedpur East and West by Rakhi Rai and Raghuvar Das respectively; Jharia by Kunti Singh; Daltonganj by Dilip Singh Namdhari; Jamua (SC) by Kedar Hajra; Chatra (SC) by Subedar Paswan and Dumka (ST) by Lues Marandi.

Arjun Munda, former Jharkhand Chief Minister, does not figure in the list of 64.