We will try to contribute maximum seats to BJP in 2014 elections: Chouhan

Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls 2013

The Bharatiya Janata Party scored a hat-trick of victory in the Madhya Padesh Assembly elections, winning 133 of the 230 seats and leading in 30 seats when this report was filed on Sunday. The opposition Congress which won 72 seats in the last election, has won in 45 and is leading in 15 seats.

Chief Minister Shivraj Chouhan, who won in Budhni and Vidisha, is all set to occupy the CM’s chair for the third time. He attributed the victory to the trust and love of the electorate. He said, “We will leave no stone unturned in developing the State further. It is a victory if our ideology and organisation... There has been a lot of discrimination against MP by the Centre and we would have gone much further had they not discriminated against us. The country and the people don’t want this Central government. MP will try to contribute the maximum seats to the BJP in the Lok Sabha elections next year.”

Third consecutive win

In 2008 Assembly polls the BJP won 142 seats. It later won four by-elections and gained five seats from the merger with the Bharatiya Janshakti Party. This is the third time in a row that the party has got a two-thirds majority in Madhya Pradesh.

The BSP which won seven seats in 2008 has won in three seats and is leading in another. The party’s chief whip Ram Lakhan Singh is trailing by 24,000 votes in Rampur- Baghelan. The Samajwadi Party’s only MLA Meera Yadav has lost Niwari to the BJP’s Anil Jain by almost 27,000 votes.

Independents do well

Congress rebels Dinesh Rai and Kalsingh Babbar have won as independents from Sehore and Thandla respectively. Another independent Dinesh Rai, a petrol bunk owner, is leading by almost 21,000 votes in Seoni.

Two independents who contested for the BJP this time — former Congress Minister Manvendra Singh and Minister Vijay Shah’s brother Sanjay Shah Makdai — have won from Maharajpur and Timarni respectively. Independent MLA Paras Saklecha who is pursuing several PILs against corruption in education and illegal trials came third in Ratlam city.

We will review results: Congress

Congress general secretary and in charge of Madhya Pradesh Mohan Prakash said that the results would be reviewed and the reasons for defeat would be ascertained. “We got the support of the people but could not translate it into votes. We will call our candidates and representatives of the State, district and block committees and discuss the reasons for this failure,” he said.

The last round of counting has been scheduled only after all postal ballots are counted.

One round consists of 14 electronic voting machines, with roughly an average of 600 to 700 votes each. More than 2.58 lakh postal ballots are being counted.