The Election Commission has announced that Assembly by-election for 20 seats in six States and the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi will be held on September 10 (Thursday). The votes will be counted on September 14 (Monday).

The Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect in the districts in which the whole or any part of the Assembly Constituency going for by-election is included. The code is applicable to all the candidates, political parties, the State Governments and the Centre as far as those States are concerned.

The Assembly segments going to the poll are: Andhra Pradesh – Tekkali, Bihar - Bochaha (SC), Aurai, Kalyanpur, Warisnagar (SC), Ramgarh, Chainpur and Chenari (SC), Gujarat – Chotila, Jasdan, Dhoraji, Kodinar, Dehgam, Sami and Danta.

Madhya Pradesh – Gohad and Tendukheda, Sikkim – Namchi Singithong, Uttarakhand – Vikasnagar and NCT of Delhi – Dwarka.

The by-poll notification will be issued on August 17, and the last date of filing papers is August 24. They will be scrutinised on August 25 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is August 27.

The electoral rolls with reference to January 1, 2009, as the qualifying date as per the pre – delimitation order in Bihar, Gujarat and Uttarakhand have been revised and published. "The general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Sikkim and NCT of Delhi were held on post

delimitation basis. Hence, there is no need of electoral roll on pre-delimitation basis in these States/NCT of Delhi," an EC release said.

More In: National | News