The four-time MLA hails from Vidarbha

Four-time MLA Sudhir Mungantiwar was unanimously elected Maharashtra BJP president at the party's State convention, which began at Jalgaon on Friday.

The other contenders for the post included MLC Vinod Tawde.

Mr. Mungantiwar (47), who hails from Vidarbha, was the Minister for Tourism and Consumer Protection in the BJP-Shiv Sena government between 1995 and 1999.

He was elected MLA from Chandrapur thrice and in 2009 from Ballarpur. He set a record, winning for the first time in 1995 with a margin of 55,000 votes.

He unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha elections twice from Chandrapur in 1989 and 1991.

Replaces Gadkari

Mr. Mungantiwar replaces Nitin Gadkari who became the party's national president. He belongs to Other Backward Classes like the former State unit chief, Gopinath Munde, who is an MP and party national general secretary.