The byelection was necessitated by the death of N Janardhana Reddy, whose term was to end on June 21, 2016.

The Election Commission announced in Hyderabad on Friday that the byelectionl to the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh to fill the vacancy caused by the death of N Janardhana Reddy would be held on July 3.

The term of Reddy, who passed away on May 9, was to end on June 21, 2016.

Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh Bhanwar Lal said that after the bifurcation of the undivided Andhra Pradesh, the seat has been allocated to Andhra Pradesh (new) as per a notification issued by the Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

Notification would be issued on June 16 and the last date for filing nominations is June 23.

Scrutiny will be on June 24 and last date for withdrawalof nomination is June 26.

Counting would be taken up at 5 pm on July 3, he said.