After Telangana Rashtra Samiti President K Chandrasekhar Rao resigned, eight of the party’s MLAs have put in their papers in protest against the Centre’s alleged betrayal on the Telangana issue.

Mr. Rao, who is a Lok Sabha member from Mahabubnagar, sent his resignation letter to the Lok Sabha Speaker late on Wednesday night while the party’s eight MLAs have also quit their posts.

“The party’s MLAs have also resigned over the Centre’s betrayal on the Telangana statehood demand,” senior TRS legislator T Harish Rao said.

TRS, a section of Congress leaders in Telangana and Praja Rajyam Party’s Telangana leaders, have decided to form a Joint Action Committee (JAC) to spearhead the agitation for the statehood demand.

The parties and other Telangana outfits would meet shortly to decide their future course of action over the issue.