Reacting strongly to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar rejecting the resignations tendered by 13 Seemandhra MPs, the YSR Congress has said that it would approach the courts to get their letters accepted.

The Congress MPs are also likely to meet in a day or two to take stock of the situation and chalk out their next course of action. It is understood that not all the MPs may re-submit their resignation letters which they had given earlier to protest against the Congress Working Committee’s decision to divide the State. Sources said the Speaker’s office informed on phone all the 13 MPs about the decision.

Terming the decision as ‘unfortunate’, YSR Congress leaders said they had submitted their resignation letters in the proper format. Party president Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy received a call from the Speaker’s office about rejection of his letter too (along with those of Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and S. P. Y. Reddy). “We are approaching the court to get the resignation letters accepted,” Mr. Jagan said.

On the other hand, Rajampet MP A.Sai Pratap said that they had urged the Speaker to accept their letters under Article 101 (3) of the Constitution. She may have felt that the MPs had resigned under pressure from their constituents.

He said the MPs wanted all round development of the State and admitted that there was general feeling among the agitators in Seemandhra region that they had not submitted the resignation letters wholeheartedly.

Congress MP from Vijayawada Lagadapati Rajagopal filed a petition in the Delhi High Court seeking a direction to the Speaker to accept the resignation as it was submitted voluntarily.