Over 5,000 candidates are left in the fray for 1,096 Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency seats in the State after March 24, the last day for withdrawal of candidature.

State Election Commission Secretary Naveen Mittal told media persons here on Wednesday that 5,034 candidates for 1,096 ZPTCs and 52,568 members for 16,589 Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency seats would contest the elections to be held on April 6.

The Narasannapeta ZPTC seat in Srikakulam district and 331 MPTC seats in the State became unanimous while no nominations were filed in Kukkunur and Velerupadu mandals of Khammam district.

Among the 331 unanimously elected MPTC candidates, the break-up is as follows: independents - 105, TDP - 102, YSRC - 70, Congress - 31, TRS - 15, CPM - 4, CPI - 2, BSP - 1 and BJP - 1.

The SEC, which submitted an affidavit to the Supreme Court for holding elections to the panchayat raj institutions in two phases on April 6 and 8 instead of holding it in a single phase on April 6, is awaiting court’s decision.

Mr. Mittal said elections to 21 panchayats in Ranga Reddy and five panchayats in Visakhapatnam would be held on April 13.