The swearing in ceremony of K. Chandrasekhar Rao as Chief Minister of Telangana was significant for the absence of leaders from other parties.

The absence of Mr. Rao’s counterpart from Andhra Pradesh N. Chandrababu Naidu and former Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy was even more conspicuous. Prominent among the leaders present were Hyderabad MP and MIM president Asaduddin Owaisi, former Speaker Nadendla Manohar and his father and former Chief Minister N. Bhaskara Rao and BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya.

With the exception of Legislative Council chairman A. Chakrapani and deputy chairman N. Vidyasagar Rao and MLCs P. Sudhakar Reddy and K. Yadava Reddy, none of the Congress leaders were present. Telangana Congress Committee chairman Ponnala Laxmaiah and BJP State president G. Kishan Reddy left after attending the earlier swearing in of Mr. Narasimhan as Governor.