Archive Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map Today's Paper ePaper Mobile Apps Social

National » Andhra Pradesh

Updated: February 1, 2010 02:54 IST

Telangana Congress leaders yield to Moily’s warning

Special Correspondent
Share  ·   print   ·  
A file picture of M. Veerappa Moily.
The Hindu A file picture of M. Veerappa Moily.

Hours after All-India Congress Committee(AICC) general secretary M. Veerappa Moily issued an ultimatum to the Telangana Congress leaders to disassociate themselves from the Joint Action Committee, a majority of them fell in line on Sunday, stating they would abide by the Central directive.

Mr. Moily, in a statement in New Delhi had asked the State leaders to stay away from the JAC, warning them of serious consequences if party discipline was not maintained. Immediately they were reluctant to react. On condition of anonymity, a senior MLA observed: “Instead of being active in the JAC, it would be better for us to cooperate with the proposed committee to ensure that statehood becomes a reality shortly.”

‘Faith in Centre’

“It was not proper for us to be part of the JAC and set a fresh deadline when the Centre had categorically announced constitution of a committee next week,” another senior legislator remarked.

Senior MLA Basavaraj Saraiah, who has been representing the party at JAC meetings, said the leaders would abide by the high command’s dictates.

“As the process of creation of Telangana has started with a move to constitute a committee on statehood, we have full faith in the Central decision. We will meet on Monday to discuss latest developments and Mr. Moily’s statement,” Mr. Saraiah said.

Government Chief Whip Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka said when the major chunk of JAC constituents were from the Opposition, it was not proper for the ruling partymen to be part of it and target the government.


More Telangana »

Coastal Andhra

More Coastal Andhra »


More Rayalaseema »






Recent Article in Andhra Pradesh

Jagan wave will benefit cousin

It was YSR Congress president Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy all the way in 2012. He set a record with a massive victory of 5,45,672 votes — the... »