Many claimants for the posts in Telangana, but very few in Seemandhra region

Amid confusion on whether the Congress high command would constitute two separate PCCs or regional committees, the claimants for the top party posts are increasing by the day in Telangana while the Seemandhra leaders are a reluctant lot.

AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh on Wednesday hinted that two PCCs would be constituted in the next few days. But, State Congress leaders are still awaiting clarity on the issue. With the Union Government having announced the appointed day for creation of two States, the demand for separate PCCs has picked up momentum.

Former PCC president D. Srinivas, who held the reins twice, has thrown his hat once again claiming that he was willing to assume the charge for the third time, if the high command wanted him to do so. There appears to be a mad race for the PCC chief’s post as the leaders are confident that the party would come to power in Telangana if not in Seemandhra region, where a complete washout after the division of the State is not ruled out.

Party sources said the high command was looking at two options. First, it is examining the scope for forming two regional committees as the elections will be held in united A.P., the second being to strengthen the party chances by having two separate PCCs.

Former Minister Md. Ali Shabbir, who met Mr. Singh in New Delhi on Wednesday, vehem-ently opposed regional committees. He said when the division was being a reality, where was the need for regional committees.

The list is long with former Ministers – K. Jana Reddy, N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, J. Geetha Reddy, D.K. Aruna and former Deputy Chief Minister C. Damodar Raja Narasimha and former PCC chief D. Srinivas setting their eyes on the coveted position.

Interestingly, all of them were aspirants for the post of Chief Minister. Reliable sources said the party may pitch for a forward caste leader and Mr. Jana Reddy was certainly a front-runner while Mr. Uttam Kumar Reddy could be the dark horse.

The scene is different in Seemandhra region where the party is said to be looking at a backward class or Kapu leader to assume the mantle. Party sources said the race is between former Ministers Kanna Lakshminarayana and N. Raghuveera Reddy.