Police hold ‘Grama Sabhas’ with fishermen communities in inaccessible panchayats

The district police are making fool-proof arrangements for the smooth conduct of panchayat elections to be conducted in three phases in Krishna district from July 23.

Superintendent of Police J. Prabhakara Rao visited the island villages in Nagayalanka mandal on Friday. He enquired with the police about the number of wards, voters, booths being arranged in the fishermen villages and the police forces deputed. He directed the Station House Officers (SHOs) to take measures for the peaceful conduct of the elections.

Mr. Rao along with the Avanigadda DSP K. Hari Rajendra Babu, Circle Inspector G. V. Ramana Murthy visited Edurumondi, Eelachetladibba and Nachugunta villages in Nagayalanka mandal and held discussions with the community elders.

Features of code explained

In the ‘Grama Sabhas’, the police officials explained to the villagers features of the election code of conduct and appealed to the voters to cooperate with the police for the peaceful conduct of polling. The local police were instructed to be alert in the island villages as the booths were inaccessible, in case of any emergency.

One armed security guard with a head constable and four constables would be deputed in all inaccessible villages. The entire election process would be recorded through videography and web casting, said the SP.

“To ensure peaceful polling, the district police are visiting villages and are appealing to the voters to cooperate with the election officials and police for the smooth conduct of Panchayat elections. Police are holding meetings in all hypersensitive and sensitive villages in the district. Meetings were held at Mucherla, Kosuru and Khaja villages in Pedana mandal and a few vulnerable areas in Nuzvid division,” said Mr. Prabhakara Rao.

The focus will be on hypersensitive, sensitive and inaccessible villages in the district. In all, 166 hypersensitive, 214 sensitive and seven inaccessible villages were identified in Nuzvid, Machilipatnam, Vijayawada and Gudivada divisions.