Protests rock Seemandhra region against Cabinet nod to Bifurcation Bill; Congress MLA T. Vijaya Kumar quits party, to join YSRC today

A day after the Union Cabinet cleared the AP Reorganisation Bill with minimal amendments, there was uproar in Seemandhra with the demand for resignation of Central Ministers from the region for failing to put up a strong fight against bifurcation.

A fallout was the announcement by Congress MLA from Visakhapatnam North Assembly T. Vijaya Kumar to resign from the party. He said he would join the YSRC in the presence of its president Jaganmohan Reddy in Srikakulam on Sunday.

The Samaikya Rashtra Parirakshana Vedika (SRPV) led by APNGO’s Association was the first to criticise the Union Ministers and the MPs from the region for doing little to protect the interests of Seemandhra people.