Eight MLAs may ditch party to sail with Jagan

The list of elected representatives queuing up to join YSR Congress (YSRC) is growing by the day with at least eight Congress MLAs set to shift their loyalties in the coming few weeks.


The YSRC top brass has reportedly set January 25 as the deadline for the fence sitters to take the final call. The party has adopted a twin-pronged strategy by setting a cut off date and promising party tickets to defectors in the next polls.

MLAs from Prakasam, Krishna, Ranga Reddy and East Godavari districts are tipped to switch loyalties after meeting YSRC chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy in Chanchalguda jail after Sankranti. “Yes, some MLAs will be meeting Jagan after January16,” a top YSRC leader confirmed.

With Darsi MLA B. Sivaprasada Reddy (Congress) openly announcing support to Jaganmohan Reddy, the party is faced with another set back with Addanki MLA Gottipati Ravi Kumar too looking to join YSRC.

Persuasion fails

A Congress MLA said last ditch efforts by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy’s emissaries to persuade Mr. Ravi Kumar failed.

Mr. Ravi Kumar’s compulsion stems from the fact that the Reddy community, who constitute the bulk of voters in his constituency, are with Jaganmohan Reddy.

In Krishna district, Government Whip Perini Venkataramaiah (Machilipatnam) is planning to meet Jagan shortly. Two other MLAs Jogi Ramesh (Pedana) and Malladi Vishnu (Vijayawada Central) may follow suit.


Kakinada City MLA Dwarampudi Chandrasekhara Reddy is set to make a comeback to the YSRC after flip-flop in the last one year by setting his eye on the Reddy-dominated Anaparthi seat in East Godavari.

Associate Congress MLA Kuna Srisailam Goud and two other MLAs from Ranga Reddy district are also toying with the idea of quitting the Congress to join YSR Congress.