The Congress on Monday named K.V.P. Ramanchandra Rao, T. Subbarami Reddy and M. A. Khan as the official nominees for the Rajya Sabha elections.

The AICC formally announced the list of 55 candidates of which it named three from Andhra Pradesh. While the candidature of Dr. Rao and Mr. Khan were along expected lines, the decision to give another term to Mr. Subbarami Reddy came as a surprise for party leaders. Interestingly, there are no candidates from the SC and ST community.