TDP, BJP and YSRC mull options meticulously to decide their ‘Mr. Rights’

At a time when all political parties are weighing options meticulously to finalise their candidates for the general elections, Rajahmundry City and Rural constituencies have emerged as key segments as the three major political parties—Telugu Desam Party, YSR Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party—are taking time for announcing their ‘Mr. Rights’ for these segments.

The TDP has left the Rajahmundry City segment to BJP, as per seat-sharing deal struck between both the parties following a poll alliance. And the saffron party is yet to take a call on the selection of candidates. Grapevines suggest that the names of Somu Veerraju, Akula Satyanarayana, Kantipudi Sarvarayudu and Polu Vijayalakshmi are under party’s consideration.

Uncertainty in the air

YSR Congress president Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy announced the candidatures of Bommana Rajkumar and Akula Veerraju for Rajahmundry City and Rural segments respectively, during his recent tour to East Godavari district. But, speculation is rife that the leadership is mulling changing either one or both the candidates in the last minute.

Amid this uncertainty, the TDP is in for a tough challenge when it comes to finalising of candidate for Rajahmundry Rural segment. It is learnt that former Minister Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary, Gangumalla Satyanaryana and Rankireddy Subba Raju are leaving no stone unturned to get the party tickets for this constituency.

However, it has been almost finalised that the Jai Samaikyandhra party will field Allu Bobby, a close associate of former MP Vundavalli Arun Kumar for the segment, while former APIIC Chairman S. Sivarma Subrahmanyam is all set to contest as independent candidate. In the race

The TDP has announced only candidates for seven constituencies so far and the same for the remaining nine segments are expected to be announced in the next two days. However, the YSRC has already declared the names of three MP candidates. Boddu Venkataramana Chowdary, son of MLC Boddu Bhaskara Ramarao is going to contest from Rajahmundry Parliamentary constituency, while former Minister Pinipe Viswaroop will be the party candidate for Amalapuram, which is reserved for SC category. Chalamalasetty Sunil, who used to liver in the US and has been staying in Kakinada for the last three years, is going to contest from Kakinada Parliamentary seat.