They are using smart phones to transfer data and photos immediately

Srikakulam district Police Department has become very ‘smart’ in utilising the technology to monitor the local body elections to be held on April 6 and 11 in phases. All the circle inspectors and sub inspectors are using ‘smart’ phones to transfer data and photos immediately to the headquarters.

Srikakulam Collector Saurabh Gaur and Superintendent of Police Navin Gulati directed the officials to utilise smart phones till the completion of elections. With the availability of telegram application in smart phones, the information is shared by around 200 officials at a time. Telegram application is generally used for official purpose. What’s app is generally used by general public.

Usage of smart phone has become almost mandatory for highly sensitive villages which are around 200 in the phase-I. All the officials have sent flag march photos immediately with the support of telegram application in their phones. The police have bound over 21,714 persons ahead of the elections. The bind over number is said to be the highest in the State.

“Group clashes are likely during election and at the time of counting. So, we directed the officials to transfer the data, video footage and photos immediately. So that we can identify trouble makers immediately,” said Mr. Navin Gulati while speaking to The Hindu. “We are getting up to date information of all the mandals. Majority of the young officials are already using smart phones. ,” he added.

Meanwhile, YSR Congress Party and Telugu Desam are striving hard to win maximum number of ZPTC and MPTC seats in the local body elections to be held in April 6 and 11. YSR Congress Party is hopeful that its winning chances would improve with the two days tour of Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy in Srikakulam district.

The TDP is also in jubilant mood with the recent Praja Garjana held in Srikakulam town.

Election in phase-1 will be held for 18/ ZPTC seats such as Srikakulam, Gara, Narasannapeta, Jalumuru, Saravakota, Polaki, Rajam, Vangara Santakaviti, Patapatnam, Meliyaputti, LN Peta, Hiramandalam, Kottapeta, Kotturu, Palasa, Mandasa and Vajrapukotturu. Polling will take place on 17th in the remaining mandals of the district. Voters will elect as many as 650 MPTC candidates in both phases.