Rayalaseema Public Organisations JAC chaiman Avvaru Mallikarjuna and convenor J.V. Ramana demanded on Monday that Kurnool, which was the State capital prior to 1956, be declared as capital of Andhra Pradesh.

When Andhra was separated from Madras State in 1953, Kurnool was made capital and the High Court was set up in Guntur, in tune with a Gentlemen’s Agreement, they said in a memorandum submitted to district Collector K. Sasidhar after staging a dharna in front of the Collectorate.

Andhra Pradesh was subsequently formed in 1956 with Hyderabad as capital. In the wake of formation of Telangana, it is justified that a capital should be set up in Rayalaseema region, they said.

JAC co-convenor S. Manohar, A.P. Backward Classes Mahasabha's Rayalaaseema convenor A. Prasad and leaders Balaveerappa, N. Penchalaiah, G. Tirupati, Dastagiri and Gangulu participated.