Information Technology (IT) units in the State are expected to receive better quality of power which will ensure that their business plans are not disrupted.

Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy directed the four distribution companies to exempt IT units from statutory power cuts in view of their different requirement and their large employee force.

No response

Provisions of AP Electricity Act have been invoked for this purpose as the AP Electricity Regulatory Commission has not responded to the government’s request twice to allow this benefit to IT units.

Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy also constituted a committee headed by Chief Secretary Minnie Mathew and comprising Chief Commissioner Land Administration, Secretary, IT, MD, APIIC, Commissioner, Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority, and Principal Secretaries of Revenue and Finance as members, to fix the price at which land could be allotted at Raidurg and Kothapet to 12 Fortune-500 companies seeking to establish campuses there.

IT Minister Ponnala Lakshmaiah told reporters that these companies included HCL, Deloitte, Infotech Enterprises, Intergraph, iGate, Value Labs, OSI, Sify, Pridhvi and Qualcomm.

The Consultative Committee on IT Industry had already recommended land allotment to them.

He said HMDA had been directed by the Chief Minister to expedite building plan approvals for IT companies that have been given land at Kothapet.

New sub-station

Mr. Lakshmaiah said Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) would commence its operations at Adibatla here by September 2013 with 10,000 employees initially. AP Transco has been asked to construct a 133 KV sub-station for TCS.

APIIC and Roads & Buildings Department have been instructed to ensure basic infrastructure for the second Wipro facility at Gopanapalli which would engage 10,000 employees.


Police foil bid to disrupt APERC meetFebruary 24, 2013