Four days after he announced the launch of a new party, former Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy on Monday named the team of office-bearers, including four expelled Congress MPs and two former Ministers, appointing himself president.

“All those who have participated in the movement to keep the State united with Samaikyandhra slogan are welcome to work with us for restoring the bruised pride of Telugu people,” Mr. Kiran Reddy said at a press conference here to make public the name of ‘Jai Samaikyandhra Party’ for the new political outfit.

He was expecting students, women, farmers, employees, doctors, advocates and others who were linked with the Samaikyandhra slogan to join hands with him. The party flag, its constitution and other details would be made known at the public meeting scheduled at Rajahmundry on March 12, he said.

“We’ll give a new definition to politics. Tickets are not for sale here neither there is advanced booking. Only those who wish to work for people will get our nomination,” he asserted.

Nursing the hopes of re-unification of Andhra Pradesh on the lines of Germany coming together, he said: “Mark my words. The demand for re-unification will come from Telangana.”

Asked about two key names missing from the list, Mr. Kiran Reddy said that Lagadapati Rajagopal would guide the party as a “driving force” and play a key role in party activities. “We respect his word given to people of quitting politics following the bifurcation of the State,” he said. When asked about the absence of senior leader Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Mr. Kiran Reddy quipped: “Whoever wants to sail with us will join us sooner than later but we won’t coerce anybody.” He was also evasive on the representation of Telangana in the party floated for united AP. He criticised Union Minister Jairam Ramesh for making false promises to Seemandhra people and TRS president for deceiving Telangana people.

The new team

President – N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, founder president Chundru Srihari Rao, vice-presidents A. Sai Pratap, Undavalli Arun Kumar, Sabbam Hari, G.V. Harsha Kumar, S. Sailajanath and Pithani Satyanarayana. General secretaries N. Tulasi Reddy, Kesiraju Srinivas, T. Dora Swamy, M.V. Rathna Bindu and G. Gangadhar. Treasurer Bhamidipati Ramamurthy and members Mohd. Abdul Khader and Bandi Sudhakar.