National » Andhra Pradesh

Updated: February 27, 2014 14:06 IST

Kasu pitches for new Palnadu district

P. Samuel Jonathan
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy. File photo.
The Hindu
Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy. File photo.

‘New district with Narasaraopet as headquarters spurs growth’

Former minister Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy has raised the pitch for a new district to be carved out from the revenue divisions of Narsaraopet, Gurazala and Markapur (Prakasam).

In a letter addressed to AICC secretary in-charge of Andhra Pradesh, Digvijaya Singh, Mr. Reddy said that since the process for bifurcation of the state was set in motion, reorganisation of most backward areas in Guntur and Prakasam districts should be done to address backwardness and lack of growth in the region.

Mr. Reddy proposed that the new district should be named after Palnadu, the name synonymous with valour and pride.

The region comprises stony uplands and hills consisting of southern and western parts of the district, hilly areas of Narsaraopet and the areas of Prakasam district, Mr. Reddy said in the letter.

The areas in the three divisions of Narsaraopet, Gurazala and Markapur are among the most backwards areas in the State, he said and added that creation of a new district with Narsaraopet as headquarters would spur development. He also proposed that the new district be accorded special status along with Rayalaseema and north coastal Andhra regions to trigger industrial growth. The uplands now are a hub of cement, lime and granite industries, but the area has been plagued by lack of industrial growth during the last two decades.

Mr. Reddy also demanded that a Government Medical College be established at either Lingamguntla village or Kakani village in Narsaraopet rural mandal. The former minister said that a G.O sanctioning 100-bed teaching hospital at Narsaraopet had been released recently.

The Kasu family has a political lineage in the Narsaraopet Lok Sabha constituency from the late 1970s. Former Chief Minister Kasu Brahmananda Reddy was elected MP twice in 1977, 1980 and Kasu Krishna Reddy was elected MP twice (1989, 1991) and MLA thrice (1978, 2004, 2009). Kasu Vengala Reddy, father of Krishna Reddy also served as Zilla Parishad chairperson.

Prior to delimitation of constituencies in 2009, Narsaraopet Lok Sabha constituency was comprising of Narsaraopet, Macharla, Gurazala, Vinukonda (Guntur district), Markapur, Khambam and Darsi (Prakasam district). In the 2009 elections, the segment was reorganised with the exclusion of the constituencies in Prakasam district and the inclusion of Sattenapalli, Chilakaluripet and Pedakurapadu constituencies.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor






Recent Article in Andhra Pradesh

RPF constable dies, another injured in weapon misfire

One Railway Protection Force constable died while another was injured when a gun of a colleague misfired during weapons checking on Sund... »