The stage is all set for the commencement of the short session of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the first after the bifurcation of the State, on Thursday.

The maiden session will begin with oath-taking by the members including Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu. Senior TDP legislator P. Narayanaswamy Naidu who took oath as Protem Speaker on Wednesday will administer oath to members.

According to the tentative schedule of the proceedings, the oath taking will be followed by a condolence motion in respect of TDP’s Nandigama MLA-elect T. Prabhakar who died on Tuesday.

The issue figured in the discussions of the YSR Congress Legislature Party meeting held here on Wednesday when several MLAs took objection to the omission of the name of the deceased legislator.

The election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker would form part of the proceedings on the second day on June 20. Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan would deliver his traditional address to the joint session of the Legislature on June 21.

After a holiday on Sunday June 22, the House will resume its proceedings on Monday to take up the motion of thanks to the Governor’s address.

After discussion on this motion for two days, the House is slated to be adjourned on June 24. Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the first session of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly. Finance and Legislative Affairs Minister Y. Ramakrishnudu supervised the arrangements along with Director-General of Police J.V. Ramudu and senior police officials. Over 1,200 security personnel would be deployed on duties during the session.