Amid high expectations of at least drawing a road map for further political consultations in a congenial atmosphere, leaders of eight recognised political parties have left for New Delhi to participate in the meeting convened by Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram on the ticklish Telangana issue on Tuesday.

Strangely the big two — Congress and Telugu Desam (TDP) — find themselves on the same side with both sending a representative each from Telangana and Andhra/Rayalaseema. It means each of them would forcefully argue for his respective region rather than spell out a cogent well-thought uniform policy of the party, clearly hinting at the outcome of the meeting.

Chief Minister K. Rosaiah who will attend had made it clear that he would only be a “good listener.”

There is not much of a difference even in the choice of delegates by these two major parties. While the Congress has chosen Huzurnagar MLA N. Uttam Kumar Reddy to represent Telangana, TDP nominated Narsampet MLA Revuri Prakash Reddy.

Each of them had served as chairman of Assembly committee on implementation of GO 610, which ensures that locals get preference in government jobs.

For Andhra/ Rayalaseema regions, senior Eluru MP K.S. Rao and the former Minister who held weighty portfolios, Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, were nominated by the Congress and the TDP respectively. The TDP announced the names after party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu held day-long consultations with senior leaders.