Ignoring the letter written by the former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan is understood to have cleared three names for nomination to the Legislative Council under the Governor’s quota.

Highly-placed sources in the Raj Bhavan said the file with the names of Nandi Yellaiah, T. Ratna Bai and Kantethi Satyanarayana Raju was forwarded to the Chief Secretary P.K. Mohanty for further action.

The government order is expected to be issued once the Election Commission gives the clearance in view of the model code of conduct.

The former Chief Minister, while sending proposals to fill the nominated quota, had recommended the above three along with his close aide Raghuram Reddy.

The Governor is said to have first given his nod to the three names, but Mr. Reddy refused to issue the relevant orders as the fourth name was kept in abeyance. Before resigning his post, Mr. Kiran Reddy, in a four-page letter, reportedly clarified to the Governor that the recommendations for nomination of MLCs under the Governor’s quota were made under Article 171 (3) (E) in keeping with various judgments.

Of the three nominated to the Council, Mr. Yellaiah and Ms. Ratna Bai would complete their term in Rajya Sabha in April this year. Mr. Satyanarayana Raju, a former Minister, has been an aspirant for the Council since it was revived by the then Chief Minister, Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy.