They were protesting against the unilateral decision to divide Andhra Pradesh.

Four MLAs belonging to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Nellore district unit on Friday resigned in support of the ongoing agitation against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP MLAs, who sent in their resignation papers in the Assembly Speaker’s format, were Beeda Mastan Rao (Kavali), Kurugondla Ramakrishna (Venkatagiri), Balli Durga Prasad (Gudur) and Parsa Venkataratnam (Sullurupeta).

The intensified agitation put pressure on the people’s representatives belonging to all political parties to join the struggle for a united State which began in the wake of the UPA’s decision to split the State.

In Nellore district, YSRC MLA Nallapureddy Prasanna Kumar Reddy and Congress MLAs M. Sridhar Krishna Reddy, Adala Prabhakar Reddy and A. Vivekananda Reddy also quit.