Ex-Principal Secretary Chaya Ratan to contest from Secunderabad

A former bureaucrat, artist, Dalit leader and a certified corporate trainer finds place in the first list of candidates released by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for Parliamentary constituencies in the State.

The party has fielded candidates in nine Lok Sabha constituencies, including Secunderabad, Malkajgiri and Chevella of the Greater Hyderabad region. Former Principal Secretary in the State Government Chaya Ratan will contest from Secunderabad and R. Venkat Reddy, a child rights activist associated with MV Foundation, has been selected for Chevella seat. Noted artist and social activist Chandana Chakrabarti is the party’s candidate from Malkajgiri Parliament segment.

The party’s candidate from Nizamabad is Rapelle Srinivas, an activist who has worked on issues linked to beedi workers. Dalit activist and former TRS member Chinta Swami has been given green signal to fight the Warangal seat. K.V.B. Veera Vara Prasad, an ex-squadron leader, will contest from Guntur, while a certified corporate trainer, Jaidev Injarapu, will contest from Srikakulam. Social activists E.D.A. Chennaiah and C.S.N. Raja Yadav will contest from Bapatla and Ongole constituencies, respectively.