A keen contest is awaited as candidates of the ruling Congress, TDP and supporters of Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy battle it out in the elections to nine Local Authorities’ Constituencies (LAC) of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council tomorrow.

The nine seats are: Anantapur, Kadapa, Nellore, West Godavari (2), East Godavari, Srikakulam, Chittoor and Kurnool.

The Anantapur LAC is witnessing a direct contest between Patil Venugopal Reddy of Congress and M Govinda Reddy of TDP.

Congress has reasons to worry in the district as the supporters of senior Congress MLA J C Diwakar Reddy expressed dissatisfaction over the party candidate appreciating Mr. Jagan and also their leader not being getting adequate importance.

Kadapa, the native district of Mr. Jagan, is also witnessing a keen contest between Congress’ N Varadarajula Reddy and C Narayana Reddy, who reportedly enjoys the backing of Mr. Jagan group. TDP did not field its candidate here and its votes are going to be crucial.

In West Godavari, Zilla Parishad Chairman Meka Seshubabu, a supporter of Jagan, entered the fray as an independent.

In other LACs, the fight is mainly between the nominees of Congress and TDP.

Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) candidate Syed Amin Zafri was elected unopposed for the Hyderabad LAC earlier.

Briefing reporters here this evening about tomorrow’s polling, State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Bhanwar Lal said polling will be held from 8 am to 4 pm.

The polling process will be webcast live, he said.

Asked about the reported presence of some State ministers in Kadapa district in violation of the model code, he said a report would be obtained on the matter from district authorities.

Referring to a news channel report which showed money being distributed for the poll, the CEO said a thorough investigation will be held on the allegations.

The total number of voters is 6,785, who are members of local bodies. The total number of polling stations is 27.

Counting would be held on March 23.