Eight Lok Sabha MPs from Seemandhra, who have put in their papers in protest against the government’s decision to create Telangana, on Saturday met Speaker Meira Kumar and requested her to accept their resignations. YSR Congress Party MP from Nellore Mekepati Rajamohan Reddy asked the Speaker to accept the resignation of his party president and Kadapa MP Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy too along with his own as Mr. Jagan could not move out of Hyderabad owing to restrictions imposed by the Special CBI court. Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy had sent his papers from the jail.

The Congress MPs who met the Speaker were former Union Minister A. Sai Prathap (Rajampet constituency); Anantha Venkatarami Reddy (Anantapur); C.V. Harsha Kumar (Amalapuram); Vundavalli Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry); Lagadapati Rajagopal (Vijayawada); Sabbam Hari (Anakapallee); and S.P.Y. Reddy (Nandyal).

Of these MPs, Mr. Hari and Mr. S.P.Y. Reddy had recently announced their decision to join the YSR Congress Party.