Former Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao and four other Congress MLAs from Srikakulam handed over their resignation letters to the Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy on Friday protesting CWC decision in favour of bifurcation.

Mr. Prasada Rao along with party MLAs – Juttu Jaganayakulu (Palasa), Korle Bharati (Tekkali), Meesala Neelakatham (Etcherla) and Boddu Satyavati (Amudalavalasa) called on the Chief Minister at camp office and handed over their letters. They complimented the Chief Minister for his frank remarks on the apprehensions in the minds of the people of Seemandhra on bifurcation. MLC Peeru Katla Viswa Prasad also resigned.

Srikakulam Staff Reporter adds: According to analysts, Mr. Prasada Rao proved his command over the party in Srikakulam district despite being sidelined and asked to resign from the ministry with the filing of CBI cases in VANPIC case.

Mr. Prasada Rao, who was maintaining a low profile after the elevation of Killi Kruparani as Union Minister for State for Communication and Technology, has been waiting for the right time to display his strength within the party.

The party had not consulted him when she was taken into Union Ministry, leading to disappointment among Dharmana loyalists.

United AP movement has given an opportunity to showcase his displeasure over the party affairs and corner Ms. Kruparani who did not want to quit the Union Ministry though there had been pressure from the agitators who staged protests several times in front of her residence in Tekkali and camp office in Srikakulam.

Ms. Kruparani’s associates claimed that there were no differences between her and Mr. Dharmana who reportedly conveyed his resignation decision well in advance to the Union Minister. “Ms. Kruparani will speak in favour of United AP in the Parliament during the discussion over division. She cannot have the opportunity if she resigns,” said a loyalist of the Minister.

So far over 45 MLAs from Congress and the TDP have tendered their resignation letters protesting the party’s decision on division of the State.

Some of the Congress MLAs had personally handed over their letters to the Assembly Secretary and few others to the PCC chief Botcha Satyanaryana. Some Ministers had handed over their papers to the Chief Minister.