The list of Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies which the party proposes to contest released

The Communist Part of India (Marxist) has formed two separate committees for Telangana and the residuary Andhra Pradesh States with two former MPs as their secretaries. Tammaneni Veerabhadram will head the Telangana State committee with 42 office bearers while P. Madhu will head the 44-member Andhra committee.

This was decided at the CPI (M) State Committee meeting chaired by its State secretary B.V. Raghavulu, here on Saturday.

Later speaking to press persons, he said creation of two committees was done purely for administrative convenience.

The newly constituted committees would hold meetings on issues related to the ensuing elections and take appropriate decisions.

Mr. Raghavulu released the first list of Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies which the party proposed to contest. There could be changes in the list if the party forged alliances. A decision would be taken only after the municipal elections. The party already made clear its intentions of aligning with non-Congress and non-BJP parties.

Asked about tie up between the CPI (M) and YSRC, Mr. Raghavulu said the matter figured in the discussion, but no decision was taken yet.

The CPI (M), he said, had decided to contest the Araku, Vijayawada, Kurnool, Nalgonda, Bhongir, Khammam and Mahbubabad Parliamentary seats.

The Assembly constituencies in which the party would contest are: Kurupam, Araku, Gajuwaka, Ramapachodavaram, Polavaram, Vijayawada Central, Avanigadda, Mangalagiri, Sattenapally, Santhanuthalapadu, Nellore Rural, Anantapur, Kurnool, Kodumur, Ibrahimpatnam, Nalgonda, Miryalguda, Nakrekal, Huzurnagar, Kodad, Suryapet, Khammam, Palair, Madhira, Wyra, Bhadrachalam, Warangal, Jangaon, Mahboobabad, Sangareddy, Adilabad, Kollapur and Musheerabad.

The party also decided to field its candidates in 631 wards of 124 municipalities that would go to polls shortly.