Stage is all set for a close contest between Congress and Telangana Rashtra Samiti in two municipal corporations of Karimnagar and Ramagundam, and four municipalities and five nagara panchayats in Karimnagar district which would go for polling on Sunday.

Though the BJP, TDP, and YSRC have fielded their candidates, their impact is negligible in majority of the municipal divisions. The BJP is giving tough fight to Congress and TRS in Vemulawada. Similarly, the BJP is showing little impact in Karimnagar, Huzurabad and Jammikunta. However, the MIM is likely to emerge as a deciding factor in Karimnagar, Korutla and Metpally towns.

On the other hand, the TDP, which was a strong force in the district, has lost ground . In spite of its legislators L. Ramana and Ch. Vijayaramana Rao representing Jagtial and Peddapalli municipalities, the party has been able to make little headway .

All eyes are set on Municipal Corporation of Karimnagar in the district. Both the Congress and TRS have fielded their candidates in all the 50 divisions and intensified their electioneering to bag the coveted Mayor post. Former Minister D. Sridhar Babu, Karimnagar MP Ponnam Prabhakar and other leaders have campaigned in the town. TRS local legislator Gangula Kamalakar and other leaders had also campaigned for the party .

In Ramagundam Municipal Corporation, the Independents have become a cause of concern for both the Congress and TRS. A record number of 513 candidates are in fray in 50 municipal divisions in Ramagundam. It has become prestigious for Ramagundam TRS legislator S. Satyanarayana to win the elections.

In Sircilla textile town, it is likely to be a keen contest between Congress and TRS. Sircilla legislator K. Tarakarama Rao had campaigned extensively for the party candidates. Karimnagar MP Ponnam Prabhakar and DCC president K Ravinder Rao have campaigned for the Congress candidates. Similarly, the elections have become prestigious for TRS legislator Etala Rajender in Jammikunta and Huzurabad municipalities.

Keywords: KarimnagarTRSCongresscontestkeenTelangana