Even as the counting of votes is in process for the urban local bodies, the Congress and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) have established clear lead in Telangana and Seemandhra regions respectively.

Of 145 municipalities in the State, 92 are in Seemandhra and 53 are in Telangana. Congress led the victory march in 21 municipalities in Telangana, followed by TRS in eight municipalities. In Seemandhra, TDP surged ahead by bagging 65 municipalities while YSR Congress won 19 municipalities.

In Seemandhra out of 2,571 wards, TDP bagged,1,444 wards, followed by YSR Congress with 850 wards and Congress decimated to 55 wards so far, clearly reflecting the anger of people towards the ruling party post bifurcation.

In Telangana out of 1,399 wards, Congress is leading with 500 wards followed by TRS with 300 and TDP with 157.

Of seven municipal corporations with 363 divisions in Andhra Pradesh, TDP bagged five corporations- Rajahmundry, Chittoor, Vijayawada, Anantapur and Eluru with 179 divisions, YSR Congress two corporations- Kadapa and Nellore- with 116 divisions. In Telangana, out of three municipal corporations of Warangal, Ramagundam, Nizamabad with 150 divisions, Cong, TRS won each with 41 divisions each.