Kiran, Chiranjeevi and party seniors have their way

The much-delayed Pradesh Congress Committee executive was finally announced, a new-look team ensuring overwhelming representation to weaker sections and minorities, apparently with an eye on the 2014 general elections.

The PCC president, Botcha Satyanarayana, announced the list on Sunday night. The 30-member executive includes 17 general secretaries and 13 vice-presidents.

Hardliners dropped

The list includes 10 BCs, four minorities (Muslim/Christian) and Scheduled Castes each and one from the Scheduled Tribe community and 11 from forward castes. Significantly, Telangana hardliners such as K. Yadava Reddy and S. Indrasain Reddy, who were general secretaries in the outgoing body, were dropped ostensibly to accommodate moderates from the region.

Due care was taken to induct the choices made by the Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, Union Minister K. Chiranjeevi and other party seniors. Chief Minister N.Kiran Kumar Reddy’s camp followers such as T. Doraiswamy, B.Chengalrayudu, Y. Sivarami Reddy (vice-presidents) and Tippeswamy, R. Reddappa Reddy, C.Jagannadh Srinivas and K.V. Nageswara Rao (general secretaries) found a place in the list.

Party seniors such as Rajya Sabha member Nandi Yellaiah, former Ministers – Md. Ali Shabbir, G. Chinna Reddy, D. S. Redya Naik, K.R.Amos and Madasu Gangadharam have been inducted as party vice-presidents.

Mr. Chiranjeevi’s supporters B. Vedavyas (general secretary) and Vanga Geetha (vice-president) were included.

The PCC chief on his part ensured that backward classes and other weaker sections found due recognition.

The result was induction of weaver’s community leader T. Nagaiah, former Vizag Mayor Pulusu Janardhan Rao (fishermen), Majji Sarada (Kalinga) into the executive.


Botcha backs Speaker’s action June 10, 2013