The news that BJP candidates will file nominations for all the 10 Assembly seats and Srikakulam Parliament seat in the district has left the TDP leaders worried.

Sources say that the BJP State leadership had asked the local leaders to be ready for filing nominations as there won’t be a tie-up with Telugu Desam. BJP Kisan Morcha National leader Pudi Tirupati Rao is likely to be the candidate for Srikakulam Parliamentary seat. BJP State secretary Pydi Venugopalam may contest for Srikakulam Assembly seat.

Previously, Itchapuram seat was allocated to BJP as per the agreement but local TDP leaders strongly objected to it. This has irked the local BJP leaders in the district. Now, they are in a jubilant mood with the indication that BJP would fight the election on its own. “We are preparing nomination papers. As soon as we get permission from State leadership, BJP candidates will file them,” said Mr. Tirupati Rao.

BJP’s move is being seen as a jolt to the TDP candidates in all the districts. “BJP may not win the seats on its own. But its limited vote bank can tilt the balance in favour of us. If BJP leaders contest elections, TDP may face tough fight in many constituencies including the MP segment,” said a senior TDP leader. MJ Babu is rebel for YSRCP in Rajam.


BJP-TDP alliance runs into rough weatherApril 17, 2014