The Andhra Pradesh government took a first step towards a major reshuffle of bureaucracy by transferring eight senior Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers.

The reshuffle has been long overdue and was repeatedly put off as the Rosaiah government was caught in one crisis after the other in the last three months.

Tishya Chatterjee of 1975 batch has been posted as Special Chief Secretary, Planning, in place of A K Goyal who will be retiring on December 31. B R Meena, a 1986-batch IAS officer, has been posted as the new Vice-Chairman and Managing Director of Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation. T S Appa Rao of the 1980 batch has been posted as Principal Secretary, Municipal Administration and Urban Development Department.

B P Acharya (1983 batch) has been made the new Metropolitan Commissioner of Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority. C R Biswal of 1981 batch has been made Principal Secretary, Higher Education, while L V Subrahmanyam of 1983 batch has been posted as Vice-Chairman and Housing Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh Housing Board.

Another officer of the 1980 batch, Lakshmi Parthasarathy has been posted as Principal Secretary, Transport, Roads and Buildings Department. Adhar Sinha of 1988 batch has been posted Commissioner, Collegiate Education, according to an order issued by state Chief Secretary P Ramakanth Reddy.

Though Collectors of many districts were supposed to be transferred, the move has been put off because of the ongoing agitation for and against the division of the state, official sources said.