As many as 213 nominations filed by independent candidates were rejected during scrutiny for the July 27 by-elections to 12 Assembly constituencies in the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh today, paving the way for use of Electronic Voting Machines in at least seven segments.

In all, 926 nominations were filed, majority by independent candidates.

However, 213 nominations were rejected today as they were found to be not in order, according to state Chief Electoral Officer I. V. Subba Rao.

This has left only 713 candidates in fray in the 12 constituencies with Warangal West having the largest number of 93 candidates, followed by Siricilla 79.

75 candidates remained in fray in Yellareddy, 72 in Huzurabad, 68 in Korutla, 61 in Dharmapuri (SC), 60 in Chennuru (SC), 55 in Sirpur, 49 in Mancherial, 45 in Siddipet and 42 in Vemulawada.

In Nizamabad Urban, where Pradesh Congress Committee president D Srinivas is in contest, only 14 candidates are in the fight.

Following the rejection of nominations, EC could now use EVMs in Nizamabad Urban, Vemulawada, Siddipet, Mancherial, Sirpur, Chennuru and Dharmapuri constituencies as the number of candidates in each segment is less than 64 — the number each voting unit could accommodate.

“We will take a final decision on use of EVMs or paper ballots after the due date for withdrawal of nominations ends on Monday,” the Chief Electoral Officer said.