Father-in-law of actor Allu Arjun, Kancherla Chandrasekhar Reddy, who belongs to Peddavoora mandal in Nalgonda district, is one of the contenders for the Congress ticket to contest the Miryalaguda Assembly seat, which is currently held by the CPI (M).

According to a list of recommended candidates for 12 Assembly seats by the DCC, Mr. Chandrasekhar Reddy is in the race for the Miryalaguda seat along with DCC president T. Devendar Reddy, former MLA T. Vijyasimha Reddy, former Deputy Chairman for Legislative Council Nethi Vidysagar and another strong leader from Yadav community, Pagidi Ramalingaiah Yadav.

Mr. Chandrasekhar Reddy, who is also close to Union Minister of State K. Chiranjeevi, came to Miryalaguda to meet AICC observer Rafeeq Ahamed seeking the seat in January second week.

Among the 12 seats in Nalgonda, Congress had won 7 in last elections, but the DCC recommended more than two names to six of them except to Nagarjunasagar constituency which is held by K. Jana Reddy.

The DCC endorsed the names of TPCC Working President N.Uttamkumar Reddy and his wife, Padmavathi, for Huzurunagar and their names also featured among the four contenders to Kodad constituency, which includes the names of Nethi Vidyasagar and local leader Sathi babu.

For Suryapet constituency, sitting MLA Ramreddy Damodar Reddy and his son, Ramreddy Sarvotham Reddy, and industrialist and owner of Sudhakar CVC pipes, Meela Satyanarayana’s names were proposed.

For Nalgonda MLA seat, sitting MLA Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, his associate and former Nalgonda municipal Chairman, Pullemla Venkatnarayana Goud, Muslim leaders Hafeez Khan, M.A.Muneer and Mahila Congress district president Mungi Chandrakala’s names were forwarded.

For Deverakonda, the names of sitting MLA Balu Naik and two other tribal leaders were proposed, while Palvai Goverdhan Reddy’s daughter, Sravanthi Reddy, found a place along with six others for Munugode Assembly constituency. For Bhongir Assembly constituency seven names, which includes the name of last year’s defeated candidate, Chinthala Venkateshwar Reddy, former ZPTC Chairman Kasireddy Narayana Reddy were forwarded.

The DCC endorsed the names of sitting MLA, Chirumarthi Lingaiah, former MLA Vedasu Venkaiah and Palvai’s close associate, Kondeti Mallaiah for Nakerkal constituency.

Keywords: Allu Arjun