Over 77 percent polling was reported in the bypoll held to the Banswada Assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh’s Nizamabad district on Thursday.

The by-election was peaceful and 77.62 per cent polling was reported, Chief Electoral Officer (in-charge) M A Fahim Saberi, told PTI here.

The counting of votes would be taken up on October 17.

There are 77,305 men voters, while the number of women voters is 82,368. Polling authorities had set up 186 polling stations.

The bypoll was necessitated as sitting TDP MLA Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy resigned from his post and the party and joined TRS.

He quit the TDP in protest against the party’s alleged ambivalent stand on the Telangana issue.

He is seeking re-election and his victory is said to be a foregone conclusion as the separate statehood agitation has been going on in full steam for over a month now.

The TDP chose not to field its candidate, while ruling Congress nominee is S Srinvasa Goud.

No major Congress leader campaigned in support of the party candidate as Srinivasa Reddy quit in support of the Telangana cause.

Four independents are also in the fray.


TRS sweeps Banswada bypollOctober 17, 2011