All the ten candidates who filed their nomination papers under the Assembly quota for the Legislative Council elections in Andhra Pradesh are poised to be elected unopposed.

Five candidates from the ruling Congress, three from the Telugu Desam and one each from the YSR Congress and the Telangana Rashtra Samiti will enter the Upper House as ten candidates filed their nomination papers till the closing hours on Monday to fill as many vacancies.

The candidates, K. Veerabhadra Swamy, Lakshmi Sivakumari, Mohd. Ali Shabbir, T. Santosh Kumar and P. Sudhakar Reddy (all Congress), Y. Ramakrishnudu, Samantakamani and Saleem (TDP), A. Appa Rao (YSRCP) and Md. Mehmood Ali (TRS), will be formally declared elected on March 14 after scrutiny on Tuesday.

The Congress candidates filed their nomination papers in the presence of Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, AP Congress Committee president Botcha Satyanarayana and over a dozen Ministers. The ruling party was prepared to field a sixth nominee that would have made election mandatory, but the Chief Minister and the APCC president dropped the idea later as the party leadership did not respond to their request.